DURHAM – USA Field Hockey has announced the teams for the upcoming 2021 National Young Women’s Championship (YWNC), as a total of 13 incoming, current and former members of the Duke field hockey program have been named to a team. Duke’s assistant coach Ralph boersma will be a coach. The event will take place at the Virginia Beach Regional Training Center in Virginia Beach, Va., June 15-20.

The tournament will feature the country’s top players in their respective age groups, competing to be crowned national champions. Following the cancellation of the 2020 edition, the YWNC will feature a pool of 10 top collegiate and post-college athletes, all current members of the Rise, from the United States U-21 Women’s National Team. , the National Development Team and the USWNT.

“We are thrilled and proud to have so many former, current and future Duke Blue Devils competing at the YWNC,” head coach Pam bustin mentionned. “The opportunity to play and compete alongside our national team members and talented college players is incredible. Thank you to USA Field Hockey and the coaches who will lead these teams. Play hard and enjoy the games!”

Former Blue Devils representing the USWNT are Haley Randall and Jillian wolgemuth. U-21 WNT players include Lea Crouse, Hannah miller, Josie varney and Marykate neff. As members of Rise WNT, Civitella beard will play with incoming freshmen Josephine Palde and Grace Norair. Current players Piper hampsch, Mary harkins, Grace Kim and Kelsey Reznick were also invited to compete.

“I can’t wait to coach at the YWNC tournament,” said Boersma. “This year’s format guarantees a week of high level hockey and great competitiveness between players and coaches. It will be fun training against some of our past, current and future Duke field hockey players. It’s a great stage for them to show off their growth and quality in a high performance event. “

Palde and Wolgemuth will star in Team Brave, while Kim and Miller will star for Dream. Norair and Reznick will compete on Honor, and Varney will play for Liberty. Boersma will coach Neff to the Patriots squad as Civitella and Hampsch join Pride. Crouse will adapt to former United teammate Randall.

Each team will play three group matches according to the International Hockey Federation’s FIH Hockey Pro League points system – win = three points, draw = one point, shootouts = one point and loss = zero. The final day’s crossover matches will be how the teams end up in terms of standings.

Entry to the tournament is free and encouraged at the Virginia Beach Regional Training Center. For the full schedule and more information about the event, visit here.


Source link